What are you doing?

Every day, there are more important goals than my own to attend to. My life is lonely and simple. Some people have real problems. I stop for people waiting at crosswalks, for instance. The goal of getting down the road can wait. My goals are not my focus most of the time. My goals are to listen to others carefully when they speak, get the dog out for the time he needs to take care of his business, and enjoy life while leaving my kids alone so they can live their lives without a pressing mother voice.
I have had goals and projects with due dates. I have gone to work at a thankless, meaningless job for 50 years. I have accomplished valuable things over time, which I call my life. But now? It is time for me to let go and have goals that do not conflict with the most critical priorities—being human and appreciating the wonder of it all.

Daily writing prompt
How often do you say “no” to things that would interfere with your goals?

Published by

cherrykola

I live in Port Orford Oregon.

Leave a comment